The New South Wales Suburban Rugby Union (NSWSRU) is affiliated to the New South Wales Rugby Union and runs the competition affectionately known as "Subbies" rugby. There are around 6000 players and 50 clubs competing across 6 divisions.

The NSWSRU selects representative sides to compete against Queensland Suburban for the Barraclough Shield, and New South Wales Country for the Maher Ross Cup.

In 2017, Subbies’ Tiger Parker received the Dan Moore Medal as Representative Player of the Year while the Hunter’s Hill Rugby Club was awarded the NSW Rugby Club of the Year.

Matches played by suburban or sub-district clubs began in 1869 as the City and Suburban competition. Today’s competition became known as the New South Wales Suburban Rugby Union in 1990 and incorporates promotion and relegation among the top three divisions based on club championship results down to Third Division promotion.

An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: